top of page

A pile of rocks ceases to be a rock pile when somebody contemplates it with the idea of a cathedral


I’m back! It’s been a very long time since I updated this blog, but in my defence things have been more than a little busy over here. The last few months have been hectic from finishing our Innovation voucher project, to its report writing, which has now evolved into a conference research paper which we hope to present at Digital Workflows for Heritage Conservation 26th International CIPA Symposium, Ottawa (Aug 28 to Sept 1, 2017), to presenting the findings at various industry events such as;

#hellodigital - the ‘Augmented Business Week ​" Augmented Business: Architecture, Engineering & Construction (AEC) " August 31st, 2016 held by Highlands and Islands Enterprise in Inverness,

13th International Congress on the Deterioration and Conservation of Stone" Emerging Digitisation trends in Stonemasonry Practice " Paisley, Scotland, from the 6th -10th of September 2016

the Energy Skills Partnership (ESP) hosting the first meeting of the Scottish R&M forum which was organised in-partnership with Heriot-Watt University on the 4th October 2016.

It’s been a great opportunity to get feedback about my project from industry, training as well as from some experienced researchers in my department. It’s also going to require me to publicly explore all the potential weak points in my research – something that I haven’t done on this scale before. With luck, I’ll have a much stronger project afterwards.

You'd be amazed how much research you can get done when you have no life whatsoever!!

bottom of page